DWTS Recap Eight: Nick Carter’s BOOty

CSG9SFBUwAEWwfd

WOW we hit the ground running tonight with nothing but Nick to start the show. The opening dance reveals Nick dressed as a zombie and Rose and I immediately die. Rose and I may differ on some things but we agree on the Backstreet Boys and zombies. Seriously, this blog will be a mess when Dead 7 premieres. I can’t wait!

Let me start by saying that I love Halloween.  This episode will probably be my favorite because Nick’s team will be performing t This Is Halloween, from A Nightmare Before Christmas.  The movie was as amazing as the soundtrack and the opening number set the tone for what should be an entertaining evening. At least it should be easier for them to stay on theme this week.

DWTS shows what looks like fake footage of Nick on a plane to illustrate his busy schedule.  I find my heart skipping a beat every time the Boys are mentioned.  I miss them so much and this weekly dose of Nick has only made it worse!

Nick-Carter-DWTS-250x198

Nick is feeling the pressure of performing the very difficult Argentine Tango.  To me, the performance looks great outside of what seemed like some awkward footwork from Nick on the lift/spin.  The judges felt… differently.

They start off strong by drawing attention to Nick’s ass, but it’s downhill from there. Bruno begins to critique Nick and he looks like he’s about to cry. The interview after reinforces for me that Nick was pretty disappointed.  Again, this is a really tough dance, but we need to make sure we keep his spirits up by voting like crazy.

(At the end of their dance, it looks like Nick and Sharna are making out and I begin cracking up at the amount of fan fiction this tango might inspire.)

Hayes is under pressure. What that means for a 15 year old Vine Celebrity I’m not sure, but it seems serious. He sports a werewolf look and scores higher than Nick.  If you, like me, only watch this show for Nick and don’t find it appealing otherwise, you probably also managed to throw a Snickers bar directly at the judges.

Alexa manages to perform better in the eyes of the judges than last week but I have to imagine she’ll be eliminated soon.  She and Carlos are boring it is painful.  The only thing that might save them is that Alek is as over this show as my launched Snickers bar.

Tamar is a good dancer.  Her attitude makes me laugh and to be honest I think without Bindi around she’d be more of a competitor but she receives the same scores as Nick and doesn’t have the Backstreet Army behind her.

Andy’s face in makeup is no better than Andy’s face in real life.  He dances to a Marilyn Manson song and I am cracking up at the thought of Brian Warner licensing his music to Disney. At least it’s for the Halloween episode.  You get street cred for that, right? Andy is on Nick’s team for the team competition and I’m worried he might get cooties.  Stay away from Andy, Nick!

Bindi comes through with her version of the Argentine Tango and… yeah, she and Derek rock it.  I really don’t know a lot about Bindi, but she’s definitely had a long history of on camera training. She’s HAD to.  The girl is clearly A Performer.  It shows again this week and I think they benefited from Derek’s choreography.  She comes up roses again.

Alek is wearing eyeliner and he gets credit for being more expressive. Are these things related?  I think so.  Carrie Ann says that he’s back to being a contender and I’m again prepared to credit the eyeliner.

Tom makes a joke about smoking weed and I jolt awake.

Carlos is up next and I fall asleep again.

O Fortuna is the piece they perform their dance too and I’m brought back to my seventh grade music class. If you’ve never heard Carmina Burana or any piece of it outside of O Fortuna, you should give it a listen. Whenever I’m stressed out at work I play it really loudly and make wild hand gestures to the crescendos.  …I’m not the most popular cubicle.

At some point this evening Leah Remini dropped to the floor because she was scared COMPLETELY AND TOTALLY UNEXPECTEDLY you guys! But that’s impossible because this is live TV and if you think the band and producers are going to stop and show a replay because Tom asked them to, you haven’t been watching the same show that I have been.  Leah continued to fall on the floor for the rest of the show. Okay.

Finally we reach the fun part!! I love the team competition and hate that Nick chooses Andy.  He picked Carlos first, however, and as much as Carlos is unappealing to me he’s an excellent dancer.

Team Nightmare is dressed like Beetlejuice and I love it already.  Nick is on a table and at first I worry the table set up might hamper the level of dancing difficulty but the team ends up hitting it out of the park.  Everyone really does an amazing job (besides Andy who will remain awful forever). Leah reminds us that ‘Derek has never lawst a team dance’ and starts discussing Nick’s underwear.  Honestly this has been a great night of Nick.  The team Nick captains gets a perfect score and it looks like the worst that can happen is a tie!

Bindi tries trash talking and calculatingly fails miserably.  Damn this girl is good.

Alek repeats the words ‘I don’t know what’s happening’ a few times and sound exactly like me as I watch this show.

Alek comes through for us tonight by looking awkward as fuck throughout the performance. Derek tried hiding him in the back for the ending but the opening was definitely downgraded by his dancing. Bruno points it out and the crowd boos because this crowd never seems to realize it is attending a competition? Bindi gets critiqued and then APOLOGIZED TO because they don’t like having to give her constructive feedback.  This is why people hate Bindi, tbh.

TEAM NIGHTMARE WINS!!  Derek’s streak is over. Rose is celebrating. I’m trying to pretend this doesn’t make Andy a winner as well.

Team Hayes, Team Tamar, and Team Alexa are all in jeopardy.

The team eliminated is…. Team Hayes!

I’m surprised but assume Hayes will launch his next venture as a YouTube star and hope we can pick up his fan bases’ votes.

Tom tells the eliminated contestants that they don’t have time for hugs on national television and we’re off to vote!!

wewantyoudwts

You have ONE HOUR after the show to vote (in your time zone). So vote! Call from 8pm to 11. You can call and vote up to eight times. Eight.

Online:  You go to ABC.com and it will open at 5pm PT (8pm EST) and stays open till 5pm PT (8pm EST) the next day. The number of votes are limited each week based on the number of contestants left on the show. You’ll be told how many votes you can submit through each format every week. You will have to register an account at ABC.com (Name, email, or Facebook) before you vote. You’ll have to use a proxy though if you’re outside the US, like Hola or another. You can use multiple emails and create multiple accounts to vote if you use different browsers.

Same with Facebook!

Facebook: Voting for Facebook can be done through here –http://apps.facebook.com/votedwts

Leave a Reply

